Latest Wizards

Latest News

Latest Wizards

ODI World Cup 2023 rules, group schedule, knockouts, and final

World Cup 2023 Rules

World Cup 2023 Rules: India will host the 13th ICC Cricket World Cup from October 5 to February 19. 10 teams will compete for the World Cup 2023 grand prize.

Each participating team will play the other nine teams once in the group stage for a total of 45 group games.

The first edition of the tournament was held in 1975 with West Indies defeating Australia by 17 runs in 60 overs to win. England reached the final of the tournament after beating New Zealand in the 2019 World Cup final.

World Cup 2023 Rules

ODI World Cup 2023 rules

ODI World Cup 2023 Rules: As per the ODI World Cup 2023 schedule, the first match between England and New Zealand will be played on October 5 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

The entire tournament will be held in India for the first time; It had partially occupied three previous editions there – 1987, 1996, and 2011.

TournamentICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023
DateOctober 5 – November 19
Cricket FormatOne Day International
Tournament formatSingle round-robin and Knockout
Latest Edition2019
Current ChampionsEngland

World Cup 2023 Rules

World Cup 2023 Rules: According to the previous version, the 2023 edition will have ten teams. The current format involves a qualifying phase, which has taken place over the last three years, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament stage.

The Cricket One-Day World Cup will follow slightly modified rules as compared to other cricket schedules. Check out the World Cup 2023 rules below:

  • The 2023 World Cup will have 2 matches of 3.5 hours separated by a 45-minute break.
  • Immediately after the toss, the captains will name the 11 for the game.
  • Each bowler is restricted to a maximum of 10 overs (less in rain-free matches and no more than a fifth or 20% of the total overs per innings generally in any event).
  • Limited fielding and power plays
    • The fielding team can have a maximum of two fielders outside the 30-yard circle in the first 10 overs of the innings (mandatory power play). This allows only attack points to be established when playing power games.
    • Between 11 and 40 overs, four fielders can field outside the 30-yard circle. The second powerplay can be set to Attacking or Normal Field.
    • In the last 10 overs, the captain of the bowling team can take five fielders beyond the 30-yard circle.
    • All three types of zones (offensive, defensive, and normal zones) can be used in a third power play.
    • The three powerplays are referred to as P1, P2, and P3, which are usually displayed near the score on modern scorecards.
  • If the second team loses all their wickets or the number of runs scored by both teams is equal when all the overs are exhausted, the game is declared a draw (regardless of the number of wickets lost by each team).
  • The tie will feature a super-over for the knockouts and finals.
  • If weather forces tournament officials to postpone the game. The tournament will be postponed to its reserved date(for the semi-final final only).
    • For games without a posting date, DLS will be used to determine the game winner.

World Cup 2023 Rules – Knockout Stage

  • Should Pakistan qualify for the semi-finals, they’ll play in Kolkata.
  • If India qualifies for the semi-finals, they may play in Mumbai except in opposition to Pakistan in Kolkata.

World Cup 2023 Rules – Qualifier 

The top seven sides in the CWCSL table, as well as India, who will automatically qualify as hosts, will get direct access to the tournament. The last two spots in the World Cup 2023 squad will be filled by the two ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023 teams.

  • The 10 participating teams will be divided into two groups of 5 teams each.
  • Each group performs the others of their group as soon as.
  • The top three teams from both divisions advance to the Super Six round. And the bottom two teams from both divisions play a playoff round.
  • The playoff round will be played for the smaller position(7-10).
  • The top 2 Super Six teams will play the final game of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023.
  • The finalists will qualify for the ICC Men’s Cricket ODI  World Cup 2023 in India.
  • The ICC confirmed that all matches in the qualifier matches will have ODI status.
  • The ICC also confirmed the use of DRS in the tournament. But only for matches at the Super Six stage and above. Notably, the system will be used for the first time in the Cricket World Cup qualifiers.

World Cup 2023 Rules – Super Six 

  • Should West Indies qualify, it will be in Q1 regardless of where they finish in the qualifiers.
  • Should Sri Lanka qualify, they will advance to Q2 irrespective of where they finish in the qualifiers.

World Cup 2023 Rules – Group Stage

  • Ten teams will compete for the coveted prize.
  • The tournament will follow a similar format to the 2019 edition in England and Wales, with one round-robin stage followed by knockouts.
  • All 10 teams will compete against every different as soon as in the round-robin stage.
  • With a win, the winning side gets two points per match. While a no result will mean the sides share one point each.
  • Team play will not have a reserved date.

World Cup 2023 Rules – Knockout Stage

  • The top 4 teams in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 points table will qualify for the semi-finals of the tournament.
  • Semifinal 1 will be between the first and fourth-place teams. While Semifinal 2 will be between the second and third-place teams.
  • The winner of semi-finals 1 and 2 will play in the grand FINAL of the tournament. The final of the ODI World Cup 2023 will be played on November 13 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.
World Cup 2023 Rules

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top